UCS2007 Logo

Akihabara, Tokyo, Japan (Nov. 25-28, 2007)

Organized by IPSJ SIGUBI, IEICE USN, UCN(Korea)
in cooperation with IEEE Tokyo Section, IPSJ SIGEMB, IEICE Smart Info-media Systems Technical Group, and Human Interface Society

Call For Papers

Call for Papers

Fourth International Symposium on Ubiquitous Computing Systems (UCS 2007)

November 25-28, 2007
Akihabara Convention Hall, Tokyo, Japan

Organized by IPSJ SIGUBI, IEICE USN, UCN(Korea)
in cooperation with IEEE Tokyo Section, IPSJ SIGEMB, IEICE Smart Info-media Systems Technical Group and Human Interface Society

Purpose and Scope

We invite researchers, practitioners, educators and students, and others interested in ubiquitous computing to participate in the Fourth International Symposium on Ubiquitous Computing Systems (UCS 2007) held in Tokyo, Japan on 25-28th of November, 2007. The aim of the symposium is to stimulate interactions between participants through them. UCS 2007 focuses on the emerging area of ubiquitous computing. This emergence is an outcome of the rapid evolution in smart appliances and devices, as well as tremendous advances in wireless networks and mobile computing. The symposium offers the opportunity for in-depth exploration of the most recent research and development findings in the field of ubiquitous computing. We encourage contributions describing innovative work on ubiquitous computing systems. Areas of interest include, but not limited to:

  • Enabling Technologies for Ubiquitous and Pervasive Computing
  • Infrastructure for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Home and Office Appliances
  • Portable Devices and Wearable Computers
  • Wireless Networks, Home Network and Ubiquitous Networks
  • Smart Sensors and Sensor Networks
  • Passive, Active, and Smart Tags for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Security and Privacy for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Social Solutions for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Software Architecture for Home/Smart Appliances
  • Location-dependent and Context-aware Computing
  • Human Computer Interaction in Ubiquitous Computing
  • Gaming Applications in Ubiquitous Computing Environments
  • Modeling and Inference
  • Domestic Environments and Health Care

Important Dates

Submission deadline:May 6 June 7, 2007 (extended)
Notification of acceptance:July 31, 2007
Camera-ready papers:September 1, 2007


Important for Authors

The UCS 2007 proceedings are scheduled to be published in Springer's Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series. Technical papers for UCS2007 must not exceed 16 pages (but we explicitly welcome shorter papers) and include an abstract of 100-150 words. The submitted paper must be camera-ready and formatted according to the rules of LNCS, http://www.springer.com/. Authors are invited to submit papers electronically through EDAS Conference Manager, http://edas.info/. Further information will be available on the conference website.

Poster and Demonstration Sessions

Submissions are invited to present recent results in posters and demonstrations. Further information will be available on the conference website, http://www.ht.sfc.keio.ac.jp/ucs2007.


For general information: ucs2007-info[AT]ht.sfc.keio.ac.jp
For submission: ucs2007-submission[AT]ht.sfc.keio.ac.jp
For registration: ucs2007-registration[AT]ht.sfc.keio.ac.jp

Organizing and Program Committees

General Co-chairs

  Haruhisa Ichikawa, University of Electro-Communications (Japan)
  We-Duke CHO, UCN, Ajou University (Korea)

Program Co-chairs

  Ichiro Satoh, National Institute of Informatics (Japan)
  Hee Yong Youn, Sungkyunkwan University (Korea)

Program Committee Members

  Jörg Baus, Saarland University, Germany
  Christian Becker, Universität Mannheim, Germany
  Michael Beigl, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany
  Roy Campbell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  K. Selcuk Candan, Arizona State University, USA
  Diane Cook, The University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  Antonio Coronato, ICAR-CNR, Italy
  Christian Decker, University of Karlsruhe, Germany
  Alois Ferscha, University of Linz, Austria
  Kaori Fujinami, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology, Japan
  Hani Hagras, University of Essex, United Kingdom
  Mikio Hasegawa, Tokyo University of Science, Japan
  Lars Erik Holmquist, Viktoria Institute, Sweden
  Michita Imai, Keio University, Japan
  Liviu Iftode, Rutgers University, USA
  Sozo Inoue, Kyushu Univ., Japan
  Susumu Ishihara, Shizuoka Univ., Japan
  Jihong Jeung, Kookmin University, Korea
  Yoshihiro Kawahara, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  Takahiro Kawamura, TOSHIBA Corp., Japan
  Hideki Koike, University of Electro-Communications, Japan
  Mohan Kumar, The University of Texas at Arlington, USA
  Koichi Kurumatani, AIST, Japan
  Fusako Kusunoki, Tama Art University, Japan
  Marc Langheinrich, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  Frederic Le Mouel, INRIA / INSA Lyon, France
  Dongman Lee, Information and Communications University, Korea
  Wonjun Lee, Korea University, Korea
  Claudia Linnhoff-Popien, University of Munich, Germany
  Cristina Lopes, University of California Irvine, USA
  Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
  Paul Lukowicz, University of Passau, Germany
  Fabio Martinelli, CNR-IIT, Italy
  Kazuhiro Minami, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  Masateru Minami, Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan
  Hiroyuki Morikawa, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  Jin Nakazawa, Keio University, JAPAN
  Sotiris Nikoletseas, University of Patras and Computer Technology Institute, Greece
  Kazushi Nishimoto, Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Japan
  Melek Önen, Institut EURECOM, France
  Susanna Pirttikangas, University of Oulu, Finland
  Jukka Riekki, University of Oulu, Finland
  Yves Roudier, Institut EURECOM, France
  Umar Saif, MIT, USA
  Aruna Seneviratne, University of New South Wales, Australia
  Mukesh Singhal, University of Kentucky, USA
  Joshua Smith, Intel Research Seattle, USA
  Toshio Soumiya, Fujitsu Labs. LTD., Japan
  Yasuyuki Sumi, Kyoto University, Japan
  Yasuo Tan, JAIST, Japan
  Hiroyuki Tarumi, Kagawa University, Japan
  Tsutomu Terada, Osaka University, Japan
  Yoshito Tobe, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
  Toshio Tonouchi, NEC, Japan
  Anand Tripathi, University of Minnesota, USA
  Kristof Van Laerhoven, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
  Xin Wang, Stony Brook University, USA
  Steven Willmott, Universitat politecnica de Catalunya, Spain
  Woontack Woo, GIST, Korea
  Keiichi Yasumoto, Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Local Arrangements Chair

  Jin Nakazawa, Keio University (Japan)


  Masashi Toda, Future University - Hakodate (Japan)

Publication Co-chairs

  Kazunori Takashio, Keio University (Japan)
  Young Ik Eom, Sungkyunkwan University (Korea)
  Marc Langheinrich, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)

Publicity Co-chairs

  Sozo Inoue, Kyushu University (Japan)
  Moon Hyun Kim, Sungkyunkwan University (Korea)
  Matthias Kranz, TU Braunschweig (Germany)

Industrial Liaison Chair

  Yoshito Tobe, Tokyo Denki University (Japan)

Workshops Chair

  Masayoshi Ohashi, KDDI Corporation (Japan)

Posters Chair

  Masateru Minami, Shibaura Institute of Technology (Japan)
  Charles Perkins, Nokia (US)

Demonstrations Chair

  Kazushige Ouchi, Toshiba Corporation (Japan)


  Kaori Fujinami, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology (Japan)
  Masayasu Yamaguchi, NTT Corporation (Japan)

Steering Committee

  Tomonori Aoyama, Keio University (Japan)
  We-Duke Cho, UCN (Korea)
  Hyeon-Kon Kim, NCA (Korea)
  Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University (Taiwan)
  Hideyuki Nakashima, Future University-Hakodate (Japan)
  Joseph Kee-Yin Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University (Hong Kong)
  Ramakoti Sadananda, Rangsit University (Thailand)
  Sang-Chul Shin, NCA (Korea)
  Hideyuki Tokuda, Keio University (Japan)