UCS2007 Logo

Akihabara, Tokyo, Japan (Nov. 25-28, 2007)

Organized by IPSJ SIGUBI, IEICE USN, UCN(Korea)
in cooperation with IEEE Tokyo Section, IPSJ SIGEMB, IEICE Smart Info-media Systems Technical Group, and Human Interface Society
supported by Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communications

UCS 2007


The main conference will be held in Akihabara. The workshops will be held in Tokyo Denki Univ., which is in walking distance from Akihabara station. Please refer to the local information page for the details.

Registration site will be open in the morning on Monday November 26 (the 1st day) of the main conference.

What's New

Invited Talks

DAY 1: Horst Hörtner
ARS Electronica Futurelab, Austria
"Goblin City" Media art and intelligent ambience
DAY 2Yoshiyuki Sankai
University of Tsukuba, Japan
Augmenting Human Capabilities with Hybrid Assistive Limbs and Ubiquitous Sensor Networks

Purpose and Scope

We invite researchers, practitioners, educators and students, and others interested in ubiquitous computing to participate in the Fourth International Symposium on Ubiquitous Computing Systems (UCS 2007) held in Akihabara, Tokyo, Japan on 25-28th of November, 2007. The aim of the symposium is to stimulate interactions between participants through them. UCS 2007 focuses on the emerging area of ubiquitous computing. This emergence is an outcome of the rapid evolution in smart appliances and devices, as well as tremendous advances in wireless networks and mobile computing. The symposium offers the opportunity for in-depth exploration of the most recent research and development findings in the field of ubiquitous computing.

We encourage contributions describing innovative work on ubiquitous computing systems. Areas of interest include, but not limited to:

  • Enabling Technologies for Ubiquitous and Pervasive Computing
  • Infrastructure for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Home and Office Appliances
  • Portable Devices and Wearable Computers
  • Wireless Networks, Home Network and Ubiquitous Networks
  • Smart Sensors and Sensor Networks
  • Passive, Active, and Smart Tags for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Security and Privacy for Ubiquitous Computing
  • Social solutions Ubiquitous
  • Software Architecture for Home/Smart Appliances
  • Location-dependent and Context-aware Computing
  • Human Computer Interaction in Ubiquitous Computing
  • Gaming Applications in Ubiquitous Computing Environments
  • Modeling and Inference
  • Domestic Environments and Health Care


Call for Papers: HTML, TEXT, PDF
Call for Workshop Proposals: HTML, TEXT

Important Dates

Technical Papers
Submission deadline:May 6 June 7, 2007 (extended)
Notification of acceptance:July 31, 2007
Camera-ready papers:September 1, 2007


Workshop Proposals
Submission deadline:May 24 June 5, 2007 (extended)
Notification of acceptance:June 15 June 25, 2007 (extended)

Organizing and Program Committees

General Co-chairs

  Haruhisa Ichikawa, University of Electro-Communications (Japan)
  We-Duke CHO, UCN, Ajou University (Korea)

Program Co-chairs

  Ichiro Satoh, National Institute of Informatics (Japan)
  Hee Yong Youn, Sungkyunkwan University (Korea)

Local Arrangements Chair

  Jin Nakazawa, Keio University (Japan)


  Masashi Toda, Future University - Hakodate (Japan)

Publication Co-chairs

  Kazunori Takashio, Keio University (Japan)
  Young Ik Eom, Sungkyunkwan University (Korea)
  Marc Langheinrich, ETH Zurich (Switzerland)

Publicity Co-chairs

  Sozo Inoue, Kyushu University (Japan)
  Moon Hyun Kim, Sungkyunkwan University (Korea)
  Matthias Kranz, TU Braunschweig (Germany)

Industrial Liaison Chair

  Yoshito Tobe, Tokyo Denki University (Japan)

Workshops Chair

  Masayoshi Ohashi, KDDI Corporation (Japan)

Posters Chair

  Masateru Minami, Shibaura Institute of Technology (Japan)
  Charles Perkins, Nokia (US)

Demonstrations Chair

  Kazushige Ouchi, Toshiba Corporation (Japan)


  Kaori Fujinami, Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology (Japan)
  Masayasu Yamaguchi, NTT Corporation (Japan)

Steering Committee

  Tomonori Aoyama, Keio University (Japan)
  We-Duke Cho, UCN (Korea)
  Hyeon-Kon Kim, NCA (Korea)
  Tei-Wei Kuo, National Taiwan University (Taiwan)
  Hideyuki Nakashima, Future University-Hakodate (Japan)
  Joseph Kee-Yin Ng, Hong Kong Baptist University (Hong Kong)
  Ramakoti Sadananda, Rangsit University (Thailand)
  Sang-Chul Shin, NCA (Korea)
  Hideyuki Tokuda, Keio University (Japan)