Organizing Committees

user166 Organizing co-Chairs


Morito Matsuoka, Osaka University, Japan

Morito Matsuoka is a professor at the cybermedia center, Osaka University, Japan. He received the M.E. and Ph.D. degrees from Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, in 1982 and 1985, respectively. Until 2013, he was a president of NTT Environment Research Laboratories. His reserach interests is green ICT, photonics transport network system, and communication protocols, including energy management system for datacenter and community. He is coordinating the European-Japanese collaborative project on Internet of Things FESTIVAL from Japan side, and also open innovation project for super low energy datacenter supported by ministry of environment in Japan.


Rodger Lea, University of British Columbia, Canada

Rodger Lea based at the University of British Columbia, Canada, has a background in distributed systems, middleware and the Internet of Things. He has led deployments of Smart City technologies over the last 10 years, focusing on using Metro Vancouver as a Living Lab. He currently leads the Urban Opus initiative, a unique Smart City experiment bringing together non-profits, citizens, academics, city managers and local businesses around a Smart City platform and Data Hub for the Metro Vancouver region in Canada.


Naonori Ueda, NTT CS-Labs, Japan

Naonori Ueda received the B.S., M.S., and Ph D degrees in Communication Engineering from Osaka University, Osaka, Japan, in 1982, 1984, and 1992, respectively. In 1984, he joined the Electrical Communication Laboratories, NTT, Japan, where he was engaged in research on image processing, pattern recognition, computer vision, and statistical machine learning. From 1993 to 1994, he was a visiting scholar at Purdue University, West Lafayette, USA. He was a director of NTT Communication Science Laboratories (April,2010-March,2013). Currently, he is a director of Machine Learning and Data Science Center, NTT R&D. He is a research area adviser, JST(Japan Science and Technology Agency) Strategic Basic Research Programs(Advanced Core Technologies for Big Data Integration).


Luis Muñoz, University of Cantabria, Spain

Luis Muñoz received both the Telecommunications Engineering degree and Ph.D. from the Polytechnical University of Cataluña (UPC), Spain, in 1990 and 1995, respectively. He is head of the Network Planning and Mobile Communications at the University of Cantabria, Spain. His research focuses on advanced data transmission techniques, heterogeneous wireless multihop networks and applied mathematical methods for telecommunications. He has participated in several National and European research projects belonging to the 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th Framework Program in which he is technical manager of SmartSantander. In parallel to this activity, he serves as consultant for the Spanish Government as well as for different companies in Europe and USA.

user168 Advisory Chair


Hide Tokuda, Keio University, Japan

Hideyuki Tokuda is Dean of the Graduate School of Media and Governance and a Professor of the Faculty of Environment and Information Studies, Keio University, Japan. His research interests include ubiquitous computing systems, smart spaces, sensor networks, distributed real-time operating systems and embedded systems. He has created many distributed real-time operating systems, software tools and Ubicomp systems. Because of his research and educational contributions, he was awarded the Motorola Foundation Award, the IBM Faculty Award, the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry Award and the Ministry of Internal Affairs and Communication Award in Japan.

user166 Program co-Chairs


Levent Gurgen, CEA-LETI, France

Levent Gurgen is R&D project manager in CEA-LETI and currently coordinating 2 European-Japanese collaborative projects on Internet of Things, Cloud Computing and Smart Cities, namely ClouT and FESTIVAL. He was also the technical coordinator of the BUTLER project, a large scale European project (15M\euro budget, 20 partners) whose main goal was to develop a horizontal IoT platform where context aware IoT applications from different verticals can be plugged in. Levent obtained his PhD degree in computer science from the Grenoble Institute of Technology. His main research interests include sensor data processing and service-oriented platforms for Internet of Things.


Takuro Yonezawa, Keio University, Japan

Takuro Yonezawa is a research assistant professor in the Graduate School of Media and Governance, Keio University, Japan. He received Ph.D degree in the Media and Governance from Keio University (2010). His research interests is the intersection of the distributed systems, human(social)-computer interaction and network technologies. He is also leading several smart city projects as a technical coordinator, such as FP7/NICT European-Japanese collaborative research project (ClouT project), NICT social big data project, MIC G-Space city project. He was awarded IBM Ph.D Fellowship Award (2009) and IPSJ Yamashita SIG Research Award (2013).

user168 Panel Chair


Toyokazu Akiyama, Kyoto Sangyo University, Japan

Toyokazu Akiyama received his B.E., M.E. and Ph.D. degree in Information Systems Engineering from Osaka University, Japan in 1997, 1999 and 2003, respectively. Since 2000, he worked as a Research Associate (Assistant Professor) at the Cybermedia Center, Osaka University. Currently, he is an Associate Professor of the Faculty of Computer Science and Engineering, Kyoto Sangyo University. His research interests include distributed systems and internet applications.

user168 Publication Chair


Shigeru Kashihara, NAIST, Japan

Shigeru Kashihara received the PhD degree in computer science from the Nara Institute of Science and Technology (NAIST), Japan, in 2003. He is an assistant professor in the Graduate School of Information Science at NAIST. He was a postdoctoral researcher at the Kyushu Institute of Technology in 2004, and was a visiting researcher at the University of California, Los Angeles, in 2010. His research interests include mobile applications and networks.

user166 Technical Program Committees

Ciro Formisano, Engineering, Italy

Duncan Wilson, Intel, UK

Futoshi Naya, NTT CS-Labs, Japan

Fuyuki Ishikawa, NII, Japan

Hiroyuki Maeomichi, NTT Network Innovation Laboratories, Japan

Jin Nakazawa, Keio University, Japan

Jose Antonio Galache, University of Cantabria, Spain

Kenji Tei, NII, Japan

Masayuki Iwai, Tokyo Denki University, Japan

Makoto Onizuka, Osaka University, Japan

Marco Grella, ST Microelectronics, Italy

Marko Jurmu, University of Oulu, Finland

Martino Maggio, Engineering, Italy

Masahiro Mochizuki, Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Mike Blackstock, University of British Columbia, Canada

Nobuhiko Nishio, Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Till Riedel, University of Karlsruhe, Germany

Yuya Tarutani, Osaka University, Japan